An Analysis Of Market Demand For Web Programming Languages

Fantastic project! Major props for his considerations on this one… granted, craiglists is a bit of a last resort for job posters – but they have a readily available dataset – which is a key consideration!

TechCrunch

Editor’s note:Marc Gayle is a Rails developer and founder of 5KMVP, where he builds Minimum Viable Products for just $5K. Follow him on Twitter.

A few months ago, I got the idea that one way to get leads for remote freelance gigs was to scour Craigslist. So after doing the manual work of “crawling” through at least 100 job postings by hand, I wrote a Ruby script to do the heavy lifting and filtering for me.

Once I started looking through the data, some interesting things started jumping out at me. Even though I don’t actually live in the Valley (I live in Jamaica), I consume a lot of the news, blog posts, and articles that come from the Valley. Suffice to say, I am affected by the “Valley echo-chamber.” One side effect of that is an obsession with Ruby and Ruby on Rails as my development…

View original post 1,115 more words

Leave a Reply

