To the man who hoped the train suicide suffered…

… I don’t know you.  You can’t know me either.

I hope you’re ok.  That your day isn’t too boring or too busy & everything in your life is fine, as well as all those you love.  I mean this, I speak from only sadness here…

I think you were probably were probably having a bad day.  I expect you deal with the consequences of people who end their lives on the rails of the place where you earn you living far more than makes the media.  I don’t expect that you are really a horrible human.  I hope you keep your job & the internet full of vigilantes with their mob justice does not get you removed or suspended.

All of that aside… it is just the pre-text to the answering of the wish you expressed over the public announcement system of a train…

Sir, I did not know whomever jumped on the rails that day – but I can assure you without a doubt that they definitely suffered.  This thought brings me to the point where I had to take a break and go walk the dog before I wrote anymore.  Then rewrote all of this again.

The suffering of this person in all likely hood began years ago.  No one who ends their lives does so because their life is great.

It was probably focused around a recurring event or person, triggered finally by something else.  At point when they were isolated in their feelings & alienated to a degree from those they loved.  That last part alone is one the most damaging things a person can experience … Link.  So damaging that jailers use it to enforce the behavior of prisons as the ultimate step.

So, yes, they suffered – likely for years – in ways that I hope you never have to understand.

Good day to you sir …

Link to original story … Link.  A link to the discussion of the other teenager who died before that at the same school … Link.

Note:

Some believe there to be a pattern in these things …

At least five communities in the United States per year experience a youth suicide cluster of three or more suicides, according to Madelyn Gould, a professor of epidemiology in psychiatry at the Columbia University Medical Center, who is an expert in the topic. Teenagers and young adults are particularly susceptible to what is called suicide contagion, Dr. Gould said, possibly because of the role that peer relationships play in their lives, or because of their impulsivity.  Link

Leave a Reply

